Brie Larson is an American actress and filmmaker. Noted as a teenager for her supporting work in comedies, she has since expanded to leading roles in independent dramas and film franchises. She has been in films such as Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, 21 Jump Street and Room, for which she has won an Academy Award, Golden Globe, SAG and BAFTA Awards for her role of Joy” Ma” Newsome. Captain Marvel is her second time teaming up with Samuel L. Jackson; having be co-stars in Kong: Skull Island. She talks about the training and prep work that went into preparing for Captain Marvel and what it’s like being integrated into the MCU.

Screen Rant: So back in 2016 I endured the hall H line. I was in the audience when you were announced as Captain Marvel and now we’re coming full circle. It’s two and a half years later. How’s this whole experience been and has anybody from MCU, one of your peers, given you any advice that you really stuck with?

Screen Rant: One of the cool things I really like about this movie is the friendship between Carol and Maria. The chemistry is off the chart, but what is it that’s unique about that relationship? Because it’s really her that brings Carol back to her humanity. So talk to me about the uniqueness of their relationship.

Brie Larson: No, no. People always ask me the advice thing. We don’t like sit around and go like, Hey, I got some advice for, you know, like it doesn’t really work like that. We’re usually just playing boggle and not giving each other advice. But this journey has been, I feel like I’ll be able to answer this better once the movie’s out and I have like a solid vacation where I can just stare at a wall, it’s hard to explain. It just feels surreal. And a lot of the time it’s just like simple moments. I’m just walking and I’m like, this is my life. This is so odd. This is so interesting.

Screen Rant: Those scenes blew me away because it just felt so real to me. It was like the, like a real bond in a real friendship. Captain Marvel, the film, is a very self-contained origins story. But Marvel had said that you’re going to be the lead of the MCU and I’m super excited for things. I love Carol Danvers. But what characters in your opinion would you like to see Carol kind of meet up with and who would she butt heads with and who do you think she would just like?

Brie Larson: It’s the great love in this movie and I’m so proud that the great love in this movie is a best friendship. Because I would go to the ends of the earth for my friends. It seems very natural that it doesn’t always have to be a romantic thing. And it’s my friends that really know me best. Well Shauna is just incredible in this film and I feel like she just like roots this movie and grounds it in a way and just sort of commands presence in this way that’s just undeniable. It was some of my favorite stuff to shoot. I love doing the fight sequences and I loved being her scene partner.

Screen Rant: 100%. Sam Jackson, when I did the set visit while back, he showed me you pushing like a jeep up the hill. I’m very curious. Can you talk to me about the training of this and getting into the fighting of the choreography is that something that you were like familiar with doing all that stuff.

Brie Larson: Man, I don’t know because I don’t know who’s gone and who’s here. I mean, we’ve got a lot of people dusted. I don’t know. I don’t know. I’m scared and I don’t know what the future holds either. I’m not let into those top-secret meetings, so we’ll see. We’ll see what happens. I love all the female characters so much. So of course like that’s what I’m interested in. I’m super into an all-female Avengers movie. Yeah, I think that would just be, it would just be cool to see all of them interact together.

Screen Rant: One thing that I loved about this film too is it feels very relevant to the times. Especially the I thought what I got from the message of the film. What would you like audiences to take away from this film?

Brie Larson: No, no. I was definitely not. I was not athletic in any way, which is why I took nine months to learn how to be athletic and moonlight as an athlete. Ii was just a lot, it was an hour and a half every day. Just going really hard cardio and weightlifting and then three months before (filming) we added in fight training as well. And that’s where it got really challenging for me because I didn’t know how to punch or kick or role or be on wires or fly or photon blast or ask. I just really hit it hard. I was not going to look like a fool in this movie. So I’m very grateful to the stunt team. They taught me everything.

More: Watch The Captain Marvel Trailer

Brie Larson: They don’t have to take away anything. Yeah. I feel like it’s up to them to decide. I think there’s so much in this movie. It’s a lot of different aspects of it that I’m really proud of. So I think if I’m lucky enough to have them in the seat and watch the movie, I’m curious to hear what they have to say.

  • captain marvel Release Date: 2019-03-08 The Avengers 4 Release Date: 2019-04-26 spider-man homecoming 2 Release Date: 2019-07-02